DE | EN

Unicode, Fonts and Keyboards

for Linux, Macintosh and Windows

Unicode

All letters and special characters, which are especially necessary for the transliteration of cuneiform texts, can now be written with Unicode in an unambiguos fashion, without annoying recoding during data exchange. This method was initially slow to spread in the field of cuneiform philology. In the meantime, the Internet and globalization have forced international standards that allow data exchange between all countries and operating systems.

SemiramisUnicode

Gerfrid G.W. Müller developed a Unicode-compatible font for HPM, which became available as Semiramis 0.4 in 2004. In 2006 the more extensive font Semiramis Unicode was released, whose characters are now almost all part of the standard repertoire of the large standard fonts of various operating systems. In 2008, a new Unicode version was released that defined code numbers for some characters for which Semiramis needed temporary solutions, e.g. half brackets for marking damaged characters or letters for transcribing Egyptian. Since Semiramis Unicode was no longer standard-compliant, its successor, SemiramisUnic2, was created (2013), but it too had to make compromises, e.g. predefined letters for the combinations u̯ and i̯ (located in the individually definable area of Unicode).

Within the new academy project, Corpus der hethitischen Festrituale (HFR), a third (and final) version of Semiramis Unicode (SemiramisUnic3) was developed that makes exclusive use of Unicode characters and has been extended to include or unify other characters frequently used in cuneiform philology (e.g. the single and double gloss wedge(s) (Glossenkeile) 𒀹 𒑱 , the character PAB 𒉽, top half brackets ⸢ ⸣, as well as pointed brackets 〈 〉). This guarantees the functionality of Semiramis Unicode and its compatibility with other Unicode fonts. Even though no further development of SemiramisUnic3 is planned, Semiramis Unicode will probably not become obsolete for a long time.

Downloads

HPM Linux Fonts

A new font package has been developed to meet the requirements of the Hethitologie Portal as well as the print and online publications of HFR. The basis for this were the font packages Linux Libertine and Linux Biolinum; these were adapted to the needs of HPM and HFR by G.G.W. Müller and are now freely accessible as HPM Linux Libertine O (as True Type Font [.ttf]) and HPM Linux Biolinum O (as True Type Font and Web Open Font Format [.woff]). These font packages replace the SemiramisUnicode fonts.

Tastaturlayouts

In order to spare the user tedious technical work, we offer various hints and files for easy entry of Unicode characters. The great advantage of keyboard level customization over macros in a program is undoubtedly that the characters can be used in all programs and also, for example, in search masks in word processing programs, in Internet browsers, databases and spreadsheets, and so on. Special keyboard layouts have been developed for Linux, Windows, and Max OSX operating systems. The American and Swiss-German layouts for Windows were provided by Alfredo Rizza.

Deprecated Fonts

The use of these fonts is no longer recommended. However, they have been made available for download here solely for the purpose of utilization and/or further processing of older files.

Downloads




Contact

Gerfrid G.W. Müller
gerfrid.mueller@adwmainz.de

DE | EN

Unicode, Fonts und Keyboards

für Linux, Macintosh und Windows

Unicode

Alle Buchstaben und Sonderzeichen, die insbesondere für die Umschriften von Keilschrifttexten notwendig sind, können nun mit Unicode in eindeutiger Weise geschrieben werden, ohne lästiges Umcodieren beim Datenaustausch. Die Verbreitung dieser Methode in der Keilschriftphilologie geschah zunächst schleppend. Mittlerweile haben Internet und Globalisierung internationale Standards erzwungen, die einen Datenaustausch zwischen allen Ländern und Betriebssystemen erlauben.

SemiramisUnicode

Für HPM entwickelte Gerfrid G.W. Müller einen unicodekompatiblen Font und stellte ihn2004 als Semiramis 0.4 zur allgemeinen Verfügung. 2006 wurde der umfangreichere Font Semiramis Unicode veröffentlicht, dessen Zeichen mittlerweile fast alle zum Standrepertoire der großen Standardfonts verschiedener Betriebssysteme gehören. 2008 kam eine neue Unicode-Version heraus, die Codenummern für einige Zeichen definierte, für die Semiramis auf Behelfslösungen angewiesen war, z.B. die halben Klammern zur Markierung von beschädigten Zeichen oder Buchstaben zur Transkription des Ägyptischen. Da Semiramis Unicode nicht mehr standardkonform war, wurde sein Nachfolger, SemiramisUnic2, erstellt (2013), der allerdings auch Kompromisse eingehen musste, z.B. vordefinierte Buchstaben für die Kombinationen u̯ und i̯ (im privat definierbaren Bereich von Unicode angesiedelt).

Im Rahmen des neuen Akademieprojektes Corpus der hethitischen Festrituale (HFR) wurde eine dritte (und letzte) Version von SemiramisUnicode (SemiramisUnic3) entwickelt, die sich auschließlich der Unicode Zeichen bedient und erweitert wurde, um weitere in der Keilschriftphilologie häufig verwendete Zeichen mit einzuschließen oder zu vereinheitlichen (z.B. den einfachen und doppelten Glossenkeil 𒀹 𒑱, das Zeichen PAB 𒉽, und die halbeckigen ⸢ ⸣ sowie spitzen Klammern 〈 〉). Die Funktionsfähigkeit von Semiramis Unicode und seine Kompatibilität mit anderen Unicode-Fonts wird damit gewährleist. Auch wenn keine Weiterentwicklung von SemiramisUnic3 vorgesehen ist, wird Semiramis Unicode wahrscheinlich noch lange nicht obsolet werden.

Downloads

HPM Linux Fonts

Um die Erfordernisse sowohl des Hethitologie Portals als auch der Druck- und Onlinepublikationen von HFR zu erfüllen, wurde ein neues Fontpaket entwickelt. Als Basis dafür dienten die Fonts Linux Libertine und Linux Biolinum; diese wurden von G.G.W. Müller den Bedürfnissen von HPM und HFR angepasst und sind nun als HPM Linux Libertine O (als True Type Font [.ttf]) und HPM Linux Biolinum O (als True Type Font und Web Open Font Format [.woff]) frei zugänglich. Diese Fontpakete lösen somit die SemiramisUnicode Fonts ab.

Tastaturlayouts

Zur Erleichterung der Arbeit bieten wir hier verschiedene Hinweise und Dateien zur leichten Eingabe von Unicodezeichen an. Der große Vorteil der Anpassung auf der Tastaturebene gegenüber Makros in einem Programm liegt zweifellos darin, dass die Zeichen in allen Programmen und auch z.B. in Suchmasken von Textverarbeitungsprogrammen, in Internetbrowsern, Datenbanken und Tabellenkalkulationen etc. verwendet werden können. Besondere Tastaturlayouts wurden für Linux, Windows, und Max OSX Betriebssysteme entwickelt. Die amerikanische und schweizerdeutsche Layouts für Windows stellte Alfredo Rizza zur Verfügung.

Veraltete Fonts

Die Verwendung dieser Fonts wird nicht mehr empfohlen. Zum Download werden sie hier jedoch lediglich zwecks der Bearbeitung und/oder Weiterverarbeitung älterer Dateien zur Verfügung gestellt.

Downloads




Kontakt

Gerfrid G.W. Müller
gerfrid.mueller@adwmainz.de